User ribbon fisk

5 years ago #T299
Just for future reference I decided to write this up to resolve all those old arguments I don't really want to hear. I'll add more if there's anything else that can be refutable.

You cannot draw the line

With sharking, there is no clear line to determine if something was a shark or not. When is something a shark and when is it a good deal? It's an entirely grey area and the decision will vary depending on who is judging. Scamming on the other hand has a very, very thin line, since it's either you get something you wanted or you don't.

Sharking is not illegal, it is a moral subject and we're joining SteamRep's stance on this one - we have no intention of touching it as it's completely up to the opinion of the judge, which can vary a hell of a lot. There is a huge chance a total newbie could shark by absolute accident (these things can happen, think back to those old days of TF2 when trading just came out and prices weren't exactly set in stone in people's minds), and it'd be completely unfair to him if he had a mark for life because the moral police noticed what happened and came after them.

Nothing constitutes value in an open market

The prices are not defined by Valve, nor they are defined by spreadsheets or any other price lists. The prices that are listed are almost always the average market price, as in what people are buying and selling for. Are you even sure lil' Timmy even wanted those earmuffs when he could've had a cool laser gun?

Once you click Make Trade on the Steam Trade window, you have agreed to trade your items for theirs.

Loads of people do it

Only the loud ones who boast actually get caught. Do you have any idea how many sharked unusuals are on the market? Do you really think everybody has the patience to wait months and months for some sucker to take on their bad deal for legit to make profit that way? Ever noticed how there's always a bunch of people with an unexplained amount of salvaged crates?